What

How can we create sustainable solutions for a more just and peaceful world? 

The AFS Global Ideathon is an opportunity for people who believe international education and intercultural exchange can make a difference and want to be involved in shaping the future by encouraging creativity and exchanging ideas.

It is a 48-hour digital event (a marathon for ideas = ideathon) run by AFS volunteers for everyone around the world who identifies with our mission. Together we can bring forward solutions to help our organization work towards our mission to make the world a more just and peaceful world.

The motivation

At AFS we believe that change is the only constant. 100 years ago AFS was a humanitarian organization evacuating the wounded from the battle fields in the two World Wars. It later transformed into an international organization that builds intercultural understanding to create a more just and peaceful world. Find out more.

We have always found innovative methods to bring people together. We want to be part of the change that will shape a sustainable future for intercultural exchange and contribute to a more just and peaceful world. Therefore we want to offer an opportunity for innovative ideas, new approaches and new solutions at the Ideathon. We want to rethink, reshape, and expand the concept of AFS to continue to fulfill its mission.

Ideathoners

During the event you will be working with the other participants who signed up and want to help come up with exciting new solutions to a challenge.

There will be mentors at hand to help you along with finding and organizing ideas, focusing and creating solutions.

The organizing team will be there to support you with technical issues and other administrational problems.

Do you want to join us?

Share the event with your friends, let’s get everyone involved! #Globalideathon #afseffect

Follow us on Instagram & Facebook

DAY ONE

1

milestone

OPENING CEREMONY

13:00UTC

UTC+2

15:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

18:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

20:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

21:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

07:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

09:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Find your challenge and team

14:00UTC

UTC+2

16:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

19:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

21:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

22:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

08:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

10:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Team building in small teams

15:00UTC

UTC+2

17:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

20:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

22:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

23:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

09:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

11:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Exercise: viritual icebreakers

17:00UTC

UTC+2

19:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

22:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

00:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

01:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

11:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

13:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER

18:00UTC

UTC+2

20:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

23:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

01:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

02:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

12:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

14:00
(NYC/USA)

2

milestone

Deep dive into your challenge

19:00UTC

UTC+2

21:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

00:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

02:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

03:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

13:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

15:00
(NYC/USA)

DAY TWO

1

milestone

Exercise: Salsa / Merengue!

00:00UTC

UTC+2

02:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

05:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

07:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

08:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

18:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

20:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER

01:00UTC

UTC+2

03:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

06:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

08:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

09:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

19:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

21:00
(NYC/USA)

3

milestone

Find the problem, not the solution

03:00UTC

UTC+2

05:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

08:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

10:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

11:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

21:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

23:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

PARTY !!!

05:00UTC

UTC+2

07:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

10:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

12:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

13:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

23:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

01:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Exercise: Indonesian Dance

06:00UTC

UTC+2

08:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

11:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

13:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

14:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

00:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

02:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER

07:00UTC

UTC+2

09:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

12:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

14:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

15:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

01:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

03:00
(NYC/USA)

4

milestone

Brainstorm ideas

08:00UTC

UTC+2

10:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

13:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

15:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

16:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

02:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

04:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Exercise: Morse code?

12:00UTC

UTC+2

14:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

17:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

19:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

20:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

06:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

08:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

HALF TIME CHECK IN with chicken sounds and finger snape!

13:00UTC

UTC+2

15:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

18:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

20:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

21:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

07:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

09:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Exercise: belly dance

17:00UTC

UTC+2

19:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

22:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

00:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

01:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

11:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

13:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER

18:00UTC

UTC+2

20:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

23:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

01:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

02:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

12:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

14:00
(NYC/USA)

5

milestone

First draft of a solution

21:00UTC

UTC+2

23:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

02:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

04:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

05:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

15:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

17:00
(NYC/USA)

DAY THREE

1

milestone

Exercise: singing!

00:00UTC

UTC+2

02:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

05:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

07:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

08:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

18:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

20:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER

01:00UTC

UTC+2

03:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

06:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

08:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

09:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

19:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

21:00
(NYC/USA)

6

milestone

Create next steps

05:00UTC

UTC+2

07:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

10:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

12:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

13:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

23:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

01:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Exercise: Yoga

06:00UTC

UTC+2

08:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

11:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

13:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

14:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

00:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

02:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

BREAKFAST LUNCH DINNER

07:00UTC

UTC+2

09:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

12:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

14:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

15:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

01:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

03:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

Pitch Solutions

12:00UTC

UTC+2

14:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

17:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

19:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

20:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

06:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

08:00
(NYC/USA)

1

milestone

CLOSING CEREMONY

13:00UTC

UTC+2

15:00
(CPT/ZA)

UTC+5:30

18:30
(CMB/LK)

UTC+7

20:00
(BKK/THA)

UTC+8

21:00
(MAN/PHI)

UTC-6

07:00
(SJO/CRC)

UTC-4

09:00
(NYC/USA)

closing1-1600×1000

outcomes of the 2020 ideathon

2020 Ideathon outcomes

More than 300 people from 70 countries participated in the AFS Global Ideathon (4-6 September 2020) to work collaboratively on innovative ideas for addressing global challenges. Envisaged as a hackathon for ideas – ideathon, this global 48-hour digital event brought forward solutions to the challenges created by the COVID-19 pandemic. The event was designed by dedicated AFS volunteers, more than 50,000 strong worldwide, who are deeply passionate about our global impact and mission to make the world more just and peaceful.

Find out more

FAQs

A global 2-day digital event (a marathon for ideas – ideathon) with AFSers (and other interested people) around the world bringing forward solutions for AFS.